another brick in the WALL-E

Being the good Pixar stock holder that I am, I watched WALL-E last night.  Aside from all of the typical physics impossibilities, and the fact that it was essentially one big iBro advertisement, I very was pleasantly surprised.  WALL-E was pretty fucking awesome.  I mean, I expect a fun movie from Pixar, but with insane computer graphics becoming more and more commonplace, they’ve had to team up with Disney for some help with the other stuff, so you never know.  As I’m sure everyone already knows, it was about these little guys here:

Well kind of.  It was really about chaos theory and sentient thought, at least that’s what I got out of it, I was pretty drunk, and high (attention government, if you’re reading this I was high on life, that statement does not indicate any illicit drug use on my behalf).

Anyway, the robots end up on a futuristic spaceship society at some point in the movie, and the addition of this one small foreign element (WALL-E) throws off the whole equation that’s been otherwise working flawlessly for the past 700 years.  It’s really cool how they show everything slowly unravel.  Very well done, and clever.  And at the center of the mayhem WALL-E seems to move through the movie haphazardly, pulling the veil off of everyone’s eyes and waking them up into the bigger picture, the “real world” (or lack thereof).  It’s kind of a Krishna and Arjuna thing, or whatever eastern philosophy you want to go with.

Also, I have a soft spot for anything involving Rubik’s Cubes:

1 Comment

Filed under music and the arts

One response to “another brick in the WALL-E

Leave a Reply

